Charline Plasczynski Named Little East Conference Softball Rookie of the Year

Charline Plasczynski Named Little East Conference Softball Rookie of the Year

PAWTUCKET, R.I. - Western Connecticut State University freshman shortstop Charline Plasczynski (Bristol, CT) has been named 2017 Little East Conference Softball Rookie of the Year.  She junior second baseman Tori Dugan (Norwalk, CT) and senior outfielder Alexandra LaFemina (East Haddam, CT) were named to the league's All-Conference Second Team.

official release from Adam Sopris - Little East Conference Assistant Commissioner

PAWTUCKET, R.I. – The Little East Conference announced its 2017 Softball All-Conference Teams and Major Awards as voted on by the eight LEC head coaches. For the first time in the history of LEC softball, there was a four-way tie for first place between Eastern Connecticut State, Plymouth State, Western Connecticut State and the eventual LEC tournament champions, UMass Boston.  

UMass Boston's sophomore catcher, Roxanne Vento was named the 2017 LEC Player of the Year following her dynamic season at the plate for the LEC champions Beacons. Vento becomes the first-ever Beacons softball student-athlete to win LEC Player of the Year honors. Vento dominated at the plate all season long as she led the Little East in six difference offensive categories, including a .440 batting average. Vento also led the conference with 55 hits, 18 doubles, 20 extra base-hits, 79 total bases and a .493 On-base-percentage. Vento, last season's rookie of the year, also finished second in the Little East with 39 runs-batted-in and placed fourth in the conference with a .632 slugging percentage. Vento's prowess at the plate and her ability to manage the Beacons' pitching staff, helped lead UMass Boston to its first-ever Little East Conference championship and a first-ever share of the 2017 regular season title.

UMass Boston's success is also attributed to the success the 2017 LEC Pitcher of the Year, Jess Greenspan had in the circle this season. Greenspan, a freshman from Rocky Hill, Conn. led the conference in fourth major pitching categories, including a conference best 19 wins. Greenspan also placed first among all LEC pitchers with 21 complete games, 174.2 innings pitched, three saves in 31 total appearances. Greenspan also finished second behind Keene State's Molly St. Germain (110) with 105 strikeouts on the season and placed inside the top-5 with a 2.32 earned-run-average. Greenspan recorded a save in the first game of the LEC championship to force a deciding game in which Greenspan tossed a completed game to secure the Beacons' first-ever LEC title. Greenspan becomes the first-ever Beacons' pitcher to be named LEC Pitcher of the Year.

Western Connecticut State's freshman Charline Plasczynski (Bristol, Conn.) was named the 2017 LEC Rookie of the Year, becoming the first Colonials' student-athlete to win the honor since Sarah Zaslaw won the award in 2001. Plasczynski led the Colonials in nearly every major offensive category in 2017 and was the Little East Conference RBI champion with 41 runs-batted-in. Plasczynski finished second in the Little East in slugging percentage (.670%) and placed third in the conference with five home runs as well as third in the among LEC student-athletes in on-base percentage (.477%). During the 2017 campaign, Plasczynski recorded 46 base hits and finished with a fourth-best batting average (.400) in the LEC. Plasczynski helped the Colonials gain a share of the Little East Conference regular season championship for the first time since 2003 when the Western Connecticut State finished 10-4 in LEC play.

For the second time in his career, Plymouth State's head coach Bruce Addison was named the 2017 LEC Coach of the Year by his peers. Addison and his Panthers finished with a 23-17-1 (8-6 LEC) record and was one of the four teams to claim a share of the 2017 Little East Conference regular season championship. Addison and the Panthers exceeded preseason expectations when the Panthers were selected to finish seventh of eight in the LEC Preseason Poll in which five programs earned first-place votes.

2017 Little East Conference Softball

Offensive Player of the Year
Roxanne Vento, Sophomore, UMass Boston 

Pitcher of the Year
Jess Greenspan, Freshman, UMass Boston

Rookie of the Year
Charline Plasczynski, Freshman, Western Connecticut

Coach of the Year
Bruce Addison, 14th year, Plymouth State

All-Little East First Team

Pitcher                         Jess Greenspan               Fr.        UMass Boston
Pitcher                         Molly St. Germain           So.        Keene State    
Catcher                       Roxanne Vento                So.       UMass Boston
First Base                    Allison Pillar                      Sr.       Southern Maine
Second Base                Kayla Votto                      Sr.        Keene State
Third Base                   Shae Crosby                     Jr.        Keene State
Shortstop                     Mary Caron                     Gr.       Southern Maine
Outfield                       Brooke Cross                    So.       Southern Maine
Outfield                       Cassidy Emerson              So.       Plymouth State
Outfield                       Nicole McSweeney            Fr.        UMass Dartmouth
Utility                          Amber Kelly                      Jr.        Southern Maine
Designated Player        Jenny Galavotti                 Sr.        Keene State

All-Little East Second Team

Pitcher                         Madison Greene               Fr.        Southern Maine
Pitcher                         Hannah Smith                 Jr.        UMass Dartmouth
Catcher                       Emma Simmons              So.        Rhode Island College
First Base                    Gina Georgetti                  Sr.        Eastern Connecticut
Second Base             Tori Dugan                     Jr.        Western Connecticut
Third Base                   Mel Goss                          So.        Plymouth State
Shortstop                  Charline Plasczynski     Fr.        Western Connecticut
Outfield                       Gia Raczkowski                 Sr.         UMass Boston
Outfield                     Alexandra LaFemina     Sr.         Western Connecticut
Outfield                       Jessica Seymour               Jr.         Eastern Connecticut
Utility                          Mel Goss                          So.        Plymouth State
Designated Player        Kristyn Ryan                    Sr.         Eastern Connecticut